Yosemite National Park Archive
Several Los Angeles engineering and architectural firms were involved in the design of buildings, bridges, and other iconic features of Yosemite National Park. From 1923-1927, the National Park Service Landscape Division was located in the offices of the Underwood Building on Spring Street in LA. Architect Gilbert Stanley Underwood and Landscape Engineer Daniel P. Hull collaborated on several national park projects including the construction of Yosemite's Ahwahnee Lodge. Los Angeles resident and architect Charles T. Gutleben developed designs for cables on Half Dome, and his company also was involved in other Yosemite projects including the construction of the Rangers Club, the Yosemite Museum, Le Conte Memorial Lodge, and many of the bridges in Yosemite Valley. The Yosemite Archives contains correspondence, plans, and drawings referring to many of these projects.